The Biscuit Barrel

A collection of my favourite recipes

Coconut Shortbread Biscuits


These are melt-in-the-mouth shortbread biscuits covered with coconut and using very few ingredients.  I make the dough in the food processor but it can be made by hand in the usual way.

450 ml flour, sifted

75 ml cornflour, sifted

125 ml castor sugar

250 g butter, slightly softened

250 ml coconut

cherries to decorate

Place the flour, cornflour and castor sugar in a food processor, blend in the butter until a soft dough is formed.  Divide the dough into two (for easier handling) and roll each half into a sausage or square it off as I have done.  Cover with cling-wrap and refrigerate for an hour until firm.

Cut into slices with a sharp knife and and cover each slice all over with coconut.  Place on lightly greased baking trays.  Place a piece of cherry in the centre of each, pushing down slightly.

Bake at 150 C for15 minutes or until they are lightly browned.

Makes about 40 biscuits

January 16, 2010 - Posted by | Biscuits | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Hello, sorry to bother you with a silly question, but I’m looking for a really nice shortbread recipe and I was wondering if you could tell me if your cut discs of shortbread dough spread in the oven a bit or if they hold their shape? I’ve tried so many recipes, but they all seem to melt a bit!

    Comment by Lisa | June 7, 2010 | Reply

    • Hi Lisa

      Sorry I have been so long-winded in replying to your query. I am not on my blog much these days. You asked whether the shortbread discs spread when in the oven or hold their shape. They hold their shape very well and do not “melt”.

      Kind regards,

      Pam Halgreen

      Comment by biscuitbarrel | June 22, 2010 | Reply

  2. we use a national panasonic food processor and this seems to be a bang for the buck;~-

    Comment by Personalised Mugs : | October 28, 2010 | Reply

  3. ooh – I love shortbread and I love coconut….
    I think I’ll make these tomorrow!! :-)

    Comment by Anne-Renée | January 20, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

