Crackers


Taking into account the name of my blog I thought a batch of biscuits might be the obvious choice for my second entry!  These are one of my favourites and this time we go to another popular South African magazine called “You”.  This one was from the 19 November 1987 issue.  I like decorating these and the sky’s the limit when it comes to how to decorate them.  As you can see they can be quite colourful.

There is one thing I won’t compromise on when I make biscuits and that is butter.  The huge difference in taste between those made with margarine and those made with butter makes the extra expense worthwhile.

Don’t squash these down too much as they spread considerably so leave lots of room between them.

Crackers 2

250 g butter

300 ml white sugar

2 eggs

5 ml vanilla essence

500 g self-raising flour OR plain flour with 15 ml baking powder

1 ml salt

Cream the butter and sugar together.  Add the eggs one at a time and beat well after each addition.  Stir in the vanilla.

Sift the self-raising flour and salt and add to the butter mixture.  Mix until you have a soft dough.

Roll the dough into little balls and decorate them with whatever toppings you desire (see suggestions below).  Place the coated balls on a greased baking tray a little apart to allow for spreading.  Flatten slightly.

Bake the biscuits at 190 C for about 10 minutes or until they are golden brown.

Makes about 80 biscuits

Suggested toppings:

crushed cornflakes/allbran flakes;  cinnamon sugar;  walnuts;  jam;  100’s and 1000’s (nonpareils);  vermicelli;  cherries and Smarties.


6 thoughts on “Crackers

  1. Hey there Pam
    CONGRATULATION AND CELEBRATIONS!!!
    You have joined the world of blogger addiction! I am so happy for you. Yes, I can vouch for having sampled some of your delicious delectables…I am salivating already!
    Those two recipes look yummy and, when I get up the energy, I will try the biscuit one out.
    Well done again on starting you blog. Good luck too. It’s hard work! Don’t be disheartened if you don’t get comments…it takes time to build up the network. Perhaps go visiting and commenting and soon you will be swamped.
    Lots of love and best wishes
    Caryl

    • I seem to have comments coming from all over the place and I’m not sure exactly where I should be replying – in the e-mail or on the blog so I’m doing both. One of these days I’ll be as proficient as you! Pam

      • Hey there, Pam
        Try commenting on their blog as TOP priority…that way they will return. Bloggers are very ‘once off’, so it is important to create a cyber-relationship. Hope it goes well. I’ll help where I can.
        Love Caryl
        ps Please contact me via: maxdoggie@mweb.com if you need any assistance. I only return on new posts…luv c

  2. ps. Also…you need to try and adjust the picture so that we can read the “About me”. I am not familiar with the wordpress blogging facility, but I am sure you will work out how to do this in some way. luv c
    (ps If Im being too verbose, please let me know…I am really excited for you and tend to get carried away.)

Leave a Reply

