Bran Loaf


This recipe came from a work colleague who used to ask me on a fairly regular basis to type them out for him .  Naturally I always kept a copy for myself (with his permission, of course!)  Thanks John.

Bran Loaf

SOAK OVERNIGHT:

250 ml mixed dried fruit (cake mixture)

200 ml soft brown sugar

375 ml digestive bran

250 ml milk

NEXT MORNING ADD:

250 ml self-raising flour

200 ml chopped cherries and/or walnuts (optional)

BEAT WELL AND ADD:

1 egg

80 ml sunflower oil

Mix well and pour into a greased and lined loaf pan.

Bake at 160 C for approximately 45 minutes.

9 thoughts on “Bran Loaf

  1. Hi Pam, Maxdog sent me. My Mommy loves to cook. Your blog is awesome, she is going to check out your recipes. I hope I can eat some of the yummy stuff she makes.

    licks and sniffs, Sasha

  2. Hi Pamela

    I was searching for a pic of bran and found your bran loaf. I make one very similar but it doesn’t use the egg and oil. Just 1 cup bran, fruit, milk, 1.5 cup sugar – soak then add self raising flour and 1 tsp mixed spice. Live in Guernsey in Channel Islands and we are launching new website tomorrow. Brilliant recipes, thanks. http://www.grubandgastro.co.uk. Would love to use your pic of bran loaf if that’s ok?
    Sarah

Leave a Reply

