Baked Spinach and Cottage Cheese Pancakes


This is another recipe which I inherited from my late mother-in-law and I remember how much I enjoyed the dish when she made it although I confess I have never made it myself …. until tonight.  That will change as I will most definitely make it over and over from now on.  I have tweaked it here and there and this is now exactly how I made it.  Because there were only three of us eating dinner tonight I cooked just six of the pancakes and the other four, which are oven-ready in a separate dish, I will freeze for another time.


Bakes Spinach and Cottage Cheese Pancakes 2


There is no limit to what you can put in a pancake so if spinach is not your thing you can fill them with any leftovers such as savoury mince, or cooked sausages or onion and bacon.  Pumpkin or butternut also make good fillings.  Also as a change you can use a cheese sauce in place of the grated cheese on top.


Baked Spinach and Cottage Cheese Pancakes 4Baked Spinach and Cottage Cheese Pancakes 3Baked Spinach and Cottage Cheese Pancakes


  • 10 ready cooked pancakes
  • 320 g box of frozen spinach (McCain’s Creamed Spinach with Feta is the one I used)
  • 250 g low-fat cottage cheese
  • 2 x 410 g cans tomato and onion mix
  • 200 g grated cheddar cheese
  • salt and pepper
  • garlic seasoning (my favourite is Robertson’s Garlic, Parmesan & Origanum Seasoning)
  • dried basil

Put one can of the tomato and onion mix in a buttered dish.  (You might need more than one dish to accommodate all 10 pancakes.)   Lightly sprinkle with salt pepper and garlic seasoning.

Put spinach, cottage cheese and about 80 g of the grated cheese in a bowl and mix well.

Divide this mixture between the 10 pancakes and roll them up.  Place the rolled pancakes on top of the tomato and onion mix.

Pour the second can of tomato and onion mix on top, season with the above seasonings again plus a sprinkling of dried basil if desired.  Lastly sprinkle the remainder of the cheese on top.  Bake in a moderate  oven (180 C) for about 30 – 40 minutes.

3 thoughts on “Baked Spinach and Cottage Cheese Pancakes

    • Yes, you can substitute the cans with fresh tomatoes and onions. Fry the onions until soft, add tomatoes and cook together for a short while. I use the tins because it’s quicker and easier. Should be excellent with fresh ingredients.

  1. Perfect, I’m going to make this over the weekend.

    I made your coconut shortbread biscuits a couple of days and they were lovely. I was looking over some of your other biscuit recipes today and am looking forward to giving them all a try!

Leave a Reply

