Fish Lasagne


This is one of the tastiest dishes I have made in a long time.  I am still licking my lips and wishing I could have another small helping but the waistline says NO.  In my opinion this dish is far nicer than the normal beef lasagne and less trouble, as the “meat” part doesn’t need cooking and neither does the topping.  The recipe calls for spinach egg noodles but I didn’t have any so I used Lokshen which looks like fettuccini.  It’s the thin one that’s rolled into little balls that look like birds’ nests!  Sometimes a substitution turns out better than the real thing and in my opinion this was far nicer than the spinach ribbon noodles.

I will probably be rapped over the knuckles by an Italian for saying this but I do not like my pasta “al dente”.  I like it soft and I hang my head in shame but every man to his own taste.  ( I also like to cook it in the microwave – another rap across the knuckes!) Perhaps it’s because I used this pasta instead of the specified one but I found the quantity was a bit too much so I kept some back and will use it with one of those ready prepared packaged sauces at some stage.

My son is a pasta fanatic but is not a huge fan of fish so this dish will definitely cause a bit of a dilemma for him when he comes home from work!  I have a feeling he will love it though.  [Note after publishing the pasta lover won the dilemma.  He had one huge helping and came back for an ever bigger one and gave two thumbs up.  So this one comes highly recommended!]

This recipe appears in an Afrikaans recipe book I have which is called “Huisegenoot se Wenresepte 2”.  Directly translated it’s Huisgenoot’s (name of the magazine) Winning Recipes Book 2.  The recipes were all sent in by readers of the magazine.


375 g spinach egg noodles (I used Lokshen – see explanation above)

15 ml oil

FOR THE FILLING

Fish Lasagne before baking

oil for frying

1 large onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, crushed

1 can (410 g) tomato soup

125 ml water

10 ml sugar

5 ml salt

1 ml pepper

2 cans (170 g each) shredded tuna in water, well drained

FOR THE TOPPING

Fish Lasagne after baking

1 tub (250 g)  smooth cottage cheese

250 ml cream

250 ml cheddar cheese, grated

extra cheese and paprika to sprinkle on top

Cook the pasta in lots of salted boiling water in the normal way.  Drain and mix with oil.  Set aside.

Meanwhile heat the oil in a large frying pan and fry the onion till almost soft and then add the garlic and fry a bit longer.  Add the soup, water, sugar, salt and pepper.  Heat this to boiling point, stir occasionally and simmer for 10 minutes over low heat.

Flake the tuna and stir into the soup mixture.  Set aside.

Mix the cottage cheese, cream and cheddar cheese together.  Set aside.

Put half the pasta in a greased ovenproof dish (20 x 20 x 5 cm).  Put half the fish mixture on top and then half the cheese sauce.  Repeat the layers once more.

Sprinkle the extra cheese and paprika on top.

Bake at 180 C for 30 minutes or until the cheese is golden brown.

5 thoughts on “Fish Lasagne

  1. This one has really grabbed my attention. I am always looking for recipes that use tinned fish. I have an excellent Canadian cook book entitled Tin Fish Gourmet by Barbara-jo McIntosh whic has given lots of new inspiration.
    Carol…The Fairyland mom of Sunny and Belle!

  2. Hi Pam
    This is one of my favourite recipes. I made it the first time just before a marathon for carbo loading and my husband has since been a total fan of this meal.
    I also tried it with a one tin of tuna and a tin of mackerel as I didn’t have two tins of tuna in my grocery cupboard – it was really delicious.

    Kind regards
    Erika Sissison

    • Hi Erika. Sorry I have taken so long to reply to your kind remark about the Fish Lasagne. I don’t have much time these days for my blog but I appreciate your comments. I like the sound of the mackerel instead of the tuna. It sounds delicious.

      Regards

      Pam Halgreen

Leave a Reply

