Sausage Meat Roll


My friend Sheila gave me this recipe (and a few others) to try out for this blog so I decided to make this one first.  I must say it was really delicious and I’ll add this to my favourites.  I made this using the tomato option with 3 tomatoes but next time I will use two and drain the tomatoes even more as the mixture was a bit moist.

8 sausages – take out of skins

2 chopped apples  OR 6 – 8 chopped prunes and chopped bacon  OR 2 small (or 1 large) skinned tomatoes, very well drained

2 chopped onions

5 ml dried sage or basil

salt and pepper

1 roll readymade flaky pastry

Mix sausage meat with the other ingredients.

Roll out the pastry into a rectangle (or halve the pastry and make two smaller ones) and spread the sausage mixture over this, leaving a border all round.  Dampen the edges and roll up like a swiss roll.  Seal the edges.  Brush the top with beaten egg.

Lift onto a large flat baking sheet and bake at 180 C for about an hour.

You might find it easier if you halve the pastry and made two smaller rolls.  I will definitely do this next time, especially seeing I prefer the edge pieces!

Serves 5 – 6

One thought on “Sausage Meat Roll

Leave a Reply

